fuga mobilya
fuga mobilya
fuga mobilya
fuga mobilya
fuga mobilya
fuga mobilya
fuga mobilya
fuga mobilya
fuga mobilya
fuga mobilya
fuga mobilya
fuga mobilya
fuga mobilya
Plumber of the Year Winners | IOPSA
You are here: Home News Industry News (Plumbing Africa) Plumber of the Year Winners

Plumber of the Year Winners

E-mail Print PDF

plumber of the year 2010 - logoThe first plumber of the year competition, a Plumbing Africa skills initiative endorsed by the Institute of Plumbing (IOPSA), Institute of Building and Drainage Control (IBDCSA) and  Sustainable Energy (SESSA Solar Water Division)., heatedly took place amongst the exhibitors for all to see, appreciate and understand.

The competition, the first of its kind, was highly successful as the contestants had no idea of what they had to do. The qualified plumber had five hours to install a solar system and the Learner had to build, from scratch, the South African flag in copper. They had three hours in which to complete this task. In both cases they were judged on application, neatness of installation, fitting and fixing, measurement, reading of drawings and general presentation and personal safety. Qualified plumber’s Brendan Schultz (Burgess & Partners), Johan van der Berg (Waterloo Loodgieters), Ryan Macklin (Burgess & Partners) and, Robert Winn (Brooklyn Plumbers) demonstrated their solar skills while apprentices, Richard Jackman (CMP Plumbing), Zanele Msimango (Modern Plumbing) and, Simon Madondo (Modern Plumbing) battled it out in the forerunning competition to World Skills as they demonstrated the talent of South Africa’s youth in the industry. All of the candidates were already seen as winners.

The winners are;

Qualified Plumber

Winner: Robert Winn of Brooklyn Plumbing, Pretoria

Runner Up: Brendon Schulz of Burgess and Partners, Edenvale

(runner up must obtain a score within 10% of the winners score. Brendon obtained 6%)

Learner Plumber

Winner: Richard Jackman of CMP Plumbers, East London

Runner up: Simon Madondo of Plumbing Academy/Modern Plumbing, Soweto and Johannesburg

(runner up must score within 10% of winners score. Simon scored 9%)


The competitors enjoyed the event and are willing to be part of the Technical Committee for next years event.

The Plumber of the Year is an annual event and will take place in July every year.

Read about the hugely successful Plumdrain Africa 2010 Exhibition


Only registered users can write comments! | Register Here

3.26 Copyright (C) 2008 Compojoom.com / Copyright (C) 2007 Alain Georgette / Copyright (C) 2006 Frantisek Hliva. All rights reserved."



Builders23 CObra Grohe kwikot OnTapPlumbing PLATINUMSPONSORS Marley2

saffer Cachet Logo



Latest Poll

When purchasing products, do you insist that they are SABS approved?


Contact Details

Local :
Tel : 011 454 0025
International :
Tel : +27 (0) 11 454 00251
Email : info@iopsa.org